Cooking for one combined with an “on-the-go” lifestyle makes eating healthfully and economically challenging. Here’s the simple approach I take:

Step 1: Take a few days at a time, look at your calendar, and determine what meals you will eat at home

meal count chart

In the chart above, I see that I need:

  • breakfast food
  • 3 portions of a healthful meal (2 dinner and 1 lunch)
  • Something that is easy to assemble to make another lunch and snacks

For the healthful meal, I try to keep it easy…time and ingredient wise. I have tons of recipes bookmarked in my favorites, so I tend to scan through and see what appeals to me. I just took a look and fajitas sound great! For breakfast, I alternate between whole grain bread with almond butter and a yogurt parfait. My favorite snack is hummus, salsa, and veggies, and to make it a lunch I add whole grain flatbread. EASY!

Step 2: Make a shopping list of what to buy (some items you will already have at home)

  • Chicken Breast (or portabella mushrooms to keep it vegetarian)
  • Peppers (red, green, yellow)
  • Vidalia Onion
  • Mexican Spice Pack
  • Tomatoes
  • Lettuce (use leaves as the shell instead of tortilla wrap)
  • Hummus (I heart SABRA Original Hummus)
  • Carrots
  • Cucumbers
  • Almond butter
  • Apple
  • Nectarines
  • Whole wheat bread

TOTAL COST: #35.00

Hummus with Veggies (~190), Chicken and Veggie Fajitas with Lettuce Shell (~360)

Hummus with Veggies (~190 cal), Chicken and Veggie Fajitas with Lettuce Shell (~360 cal)

Nutrition Labels are super easy to create on Calorie Count.

