The weekend is here and I am touching base for a few days before traveling, so to Fairway I go. If you live in the NYC area, then you probably know the anomaly of Fairway: quality food for cheap prices. The entire upstairs is ORGANIC!

If you want the details of what I do in order to make a shopping list, check out Meal Planning 101. Here’s the gist:

Step 1: First, I use my handy little chart to figure out what meals I will eat at home over the next few days:

plan2

On Friday I am cooking dinner for a friend, recipe makes 4 portions, one portion for a friend, and 3 for me (Fri-Sun). The shrimp and veggie coconut curry is a winner in my book: the cost per portion is under $5, it takes about 30 minutes to prep and cook, its filling, nutritious, and low in calories.

For breakfast, I need yogurt with berries and homemade granola.

And, for lunch/snack, I’ll pick up items for my favorite hummus and veggie platter and fruit.

Step 2: Shopping list

For the dinner

  • 1 lb uncooked shrimp (not farmed if possible!)
  • 1 medium sized eggplant
  • 1 lb sugar snap peas- 1 large red pepper
  • 1 14 oz. can light coconut milk
  • lime
  • green onion

For the breakfast

  • Organic non-fat greek yogurt  (my fave is Stonyfield Farm Oikos, the 16oz. container gives me 3 portions)
  • Container of berries – whatever is cheapest
  • Dry bin goodies to make homemade granola (seeds, dried fruit, whole grains, nuts…my granola is a nutritious goldmine. I spend ~$10 buying ingredients and this lasts me about a month)

granola and berries revisedFor the lunch/snacks

***this category is combined for me because I eat breakfast and dinner but my other meals are more like snacks every 3 hours

  • hummus (I HEART Sabra Original hummus)
  • organic salsa
  • cucumbers and peppers to dip into hummus and salsa
  • some sort of whole grain organic cracker w/ no preservatives also to dip into hummus and salsa
  • apples
  • apricot, peach, nectarine (whatever is local and cheap)

hummus

***The one thing I always have on hand is organic peanut butter or almond butter.

apples

I spent $50 at Fairway; this is a bit more than usual b/c of the once a month granola ingredient purchase. Plus, the salsa, hummus, veggies, and crackers will feed me at work all week.

