wat and fet with border

Watermelon and feta is a wonderful combination of flavors and textures, but that’s not new information! It’s a simple recipe that somehow sounds fancy enough to bring to a potluck as a worthwhile contribution. I recently chose to make this salad for a garden party for a few reasons. First, as I mentioned, its easy. Second, although its a classic combination I don’t think everyone has tried it, and its always fun to get people to try something new. As an added bonus, I made a few healthy tweaks so its extra nice if the guests like the healthier version and recreate it as such. And finally, I know that if I bring a healthful dish, then if all else fails, I’ll have something to eat.

I know that non-fat feta is not even on the same playing field as its full fat counterpart, but I think for this particular salad its good to have the harder texture of non-fat feta and there are many other flavors so that the full fat richness isn’t missed.

To Purchase:

  • Half of a watermelon (cut into small 1 inch cubes, about 10 cups)
  • 1 block of non-fat feta (cut into small 1/2 inch cubes)
  • 3 tbsp basil (finely chopped)
  • 1 lemon (juiced)

In the Pantry:

  • 1 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • Few pinches of sea salt
  1. In a saucepan, bring balsamic vinegar and sugar to a boil until sugar dissolves
  2. Turn down heat to a simmer and keep stirring with a wooden soup until liquid begins to thicken
  3. Let the sauce cool and thicken more while chopping the watermelon, feta, and basil
  4. Once cool, pour sauce over salad and squeeze lemon to add acidity and a little salt to taste
  5. After everything is mixed, drain out the extra liquid so watermelon doesn’t get too soggy; I save the extra liquid and use it as a salad dressing

For a generous 1 cup serving:

watermelon nutrition

