buckwheat with border

I’m a big fan of left-overs. Actually, I think left-overs is an inappropriate term. If I mean to cook multiple portions, is it really a left-over? So what I really mean to say is, I am a big fan of cooking once and letting the fruits of my labor feed me for days.  Just like the frittata in  Tupperware, I look for recipes that are high in nutrition, filling, and easy to make. And, of course, the recipe needs to be yummy if I’m going to eat it 6 times in 1 week.

This Asian flavored stir-fry fits all of my requirements. Its packed with good stuff like broccoli, peppers, ginger, mushrooms, tofu, and buckwheat. Its filling because its got the protein and carbohydrate components.

Inspired by NY Times

Ingredients

To buy:

  • 1 pound broccoli, crowns broken or cut into small florets, stems peeled and diced
  • 3 cups of chopped mushrooms (I used white, shitake, portabella)
  • 1 block of tofu (drain by pressing with heavy object for an hour)
  • 1 red pepper (thinly sliced)
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh ginger (buy medium sized ginger root)
  • 2 cups soba noodles (buckwheat)

In the Pantry

  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp mirin
  • ¼ cup rice vinegar

Directions

  1. Bring a pot of water to boil and add soba noodles. They will cook very quickly, about 5 minutes.
  2. Heat a huge skillet or wok over medium-high heat and add 1 tablespoon of the sesame oil, cook until hot.
  3. Turn the heat down to medium, add the garlic and ginger and cook until fragrant (about 1 minute)
  4. Add broccoli, mushrooms, and red peppers. If there’s not enough moisture left, add water not oil.
  5. After veggies start to cook add red pepper flakes, salt, and any other spices you have on hand that fit into flavor. I added some sesame seeds for fun.
  6. Meanwhile, in another pan heat 1 tbsp sesame oil, and 2 tbsp soy sauce and add the tofu. Cook on both sides; You’ll know tofu is finished cooking when its soaked up all the liquid and is hard. Taste as a test; it cooks very quickly (2-3 minutes). Remove from heat.
  7. When veggies are almost done add soy sauce and the tofu. Mix everything up and let it finish cooking on low heat for a few minutes.
  8. Add soba noodles to the big mix and once everything cools a little, separate into containers. This made 6 portions for me.
  9. Mix mirin and rice vinegar with a whisk and pour equal parts of the mixture into each container. It will make a delicious addition to the flavors.

nutrition labelI like this stir-fry hot or cold. I ate it throughout the course of 1 week and it didn’t get any less tasty as the days went. It was easy to bring to work for lunch, and just as appropriate for dinner. I usually paired with a small side salad.

