During the visit to Atlanta I spent time cooking with my mom, checking out Richard Blaise’s Flip Burger (Top Chef), and visiting the Farmer’s Market in Atlanta’s Piedmont Park. If you’ve ever been to a farmer’s market you know its a good place to snack on some free samples. A little cheese, crackers, and whatever produce is in season…and they say there’s no such thing as a free lunch!

mushrooms

leafy greens

cheese

Well, in addition to all the usual local tastings, at the entrance to this farmer’s market we were given a small bag with packaged samples to try. If you’ve been reading my blog for a bit, you’ll know that I very rarely buy packaged goods, so a good way for me to try something new is to slip me a free sample. Here’s a review of the new goodies:

1. Sahale Snacks – Glazed Nuts: Almonds with cranberries, honey, and sea salt

  • Stats – Calories 112, Fat 8g, Sugars 4g, Carbs 6g
  • Review – I have stayed away from flavor enhanced nuts as long as I can remember. Every time I saw a TrueNorth nut cluster with something and something, I just scoffed and thought, why would you need to add to almonds when they are already amazing? If TrueNorth is anything like Sahale Snack though, I was wrong. The sample I tried from Sahale is delicious. The combination of sweet from honey, tart from cranberries and the addition of sea salt is just perfect. I would love to try the company’s other creations like cashews and pomegranates and almond PB&J. I loved Sahale’s philosophy: We stick to a simple idea: use only whole foods in their natural form, avoid processed and artificial ingredients, add “culinary magic”, and produce great tasting, nutritious snacks. I couldn’t agree more.
  • Final Note – the portion you see below is what came in the sample pack. As you can see, about 15 small nuts get you to about 110 calories. Nutritious food can be very calorie dense and this is not something you’d want to have a big bag ofย  while sitting on the couch in front of the TV…

sahali portion and bag

2. Cascadian Farm Organic Oats and Honey Granola

  • Stats – 2/3 cup is 230 calories, Fat 6g, Protein 5g, Fiber 3g, Sugar 13g
  • Review – I’m used to granola being about 200 calories for 1/4 a cup so I was curious about the ingredient list. Sure enough, in addition to oats, crisp rice is being used as a filler which helps bring down the calories (see the generous portion below). Munching on this granola is nothing to write home about…it doesn’t really stand on its own. However, if you add it to yogurt its got a great crunch and sweetness and it is nice to get more than the typical serving of 1/4 cup of crunch in your yogurt or oats. If you’ve ever had Quaker Oat & Honey Granola, this to me is an identical taste.
  • Overall – I wouldn’t buy this on my own, but seeing as I have 2/3 of a cup of it, I’ll sprinkle a bit on my yogurt until it runs out.

granola box and portion

