It sounds healthy…grilled, fresh food. I think any meal is what you make of it though. Hibachi can be very healthy or a complete calorie splurge. Last night I was in middle of nowhere Pennsylvania and a few co-workers and I headed to head to hibachi. Its been a while since I participated in this interactive style of a meal and I was surprised at how much food you get:

  • Salad
  • Soup
  • Noodles
  • Rice
  • Veggies
  • Choice of 2 proteins

full dinner

Here are my tips for getting through this kind of meal and feeling satisfied rather than full:

  • Choose rice or noodles but not both (brown rice is best choice)
  • Beware of the dressing on the salad, go for the soup to warm your tummy up and get ready for digestion
  • Choose lean proteins – salmon, shrimp, chicken are all great choices if they are grilled not fried
  • Ask your hibachi chef to go really light on the oil, skip the butter, and instead to make it spicy to increase the flavo
  • What I didn’t do but will do next time is ask for extra veggies in place of rice or noodles

Any tips that you have that I missed?

