I know my way around a kitchen. That’s not meant to come off in a conceited manner, but I do cook and bake a fair amount. I can successfully follow a recipe (did you know not everyone can?), adapt recipes, or just cook on a whim. I don’t stress at the thought of throwing dinner parties and I feel comfortable eyeballing 1/4 cup of a substance, BUT I’VE NEVER MADE A SOUP. Pretty unreal, huh? Similar to the yeast component of bread, something about soup has always intimidated me. Good thing I just joined a new group called Craving Ellie in My Belly. The group is made up of bloggers’ who rotate to select a Ellie Krieger recipe every week and then we all blog about and share our experience (Ellie hosts Healthy Appetite on Food Network). Well, wouldn’t you know it, my first week of participating, and we are making a soup!

soup close up

Before I get into the recipe, I just want to say this was super easy. None of the ingredients were hard to obtain, nothing was expensive, and there was literally no way to screw this up. So…if you are an odd-ball like me and have never made a soup, this is a great way to start.

I followed the recipe featured on Food Network pretty closely. The only differences: I did not add celery (probably the only vegetable I hate), in addition to zucchini, I added a summer squash, and I used an organic vegetable broth.

The soup is a nutritional powerhouse and yet only about 110 calories for a 1 1/2 cup serving. That’s what you call a superfood meal! The cannelloni beans, especially the mashed ones, bring a surprisingly rich and creamy flavor to the entire soup. I would recommend pairing the soup with a side of something, or else you will be hungry shortly.

full meal

What rounded out my meal: WW bread with laughing cow cheese, salsa, and spinach.

PERFECTO.

Am I the only one that’s never made soup before?

