People find it hard to eat healthy at the office. Here’s are some recent survey results released by Women’s Health Magazine:

  • 63% think eating healthily at work is a challenge
  • 35% say their company provides access to candy
  • 28% are satisfied with the healthy snack options at work

I don’t know the specifics of the survey, i.e. sample size, geography, age, etc. Even without seeing the details though, I do know that staying healthy at the office is a challenge because I see it everyday. There’s always baked goods and chocolate, its always someone’s birthday, meetings are catered with unhealthy options, and the cafeteria makes it unclear how much oil or heavy cream are at play. And, of course there is the 3pm slump that makes you head in the direction of the soda and vending machines that are readily available.

So, I am not here to preach, but rather to make recommendations of what I have found to be helpful for staying healthy at the office and avoiding all the tempting unhealthy stuff.

Desk Drawer

What you see here is my desk drawer! Needless to say I have no idea where the vending machine at my work is located. Why would I need it, when I have everything I could possibly want?

Healthy Office Snacks in my Desk Drawer

  • Agave Syrup (sweeter than honey and lower glycemic index)– add to my oatmeal or yogurt
  • Truvia – add to my coffee, I don’t know if this is the best alternative, but Splenda scares me
  • Wasa Rye Crackers (2 crackers 60 calories) – missed lunch? No problem: spread tuna and have hummus in fridge
  • Cocoa Powder – love to mix this in my oatmeal or granola for a dessert feel
  • Chopped Dates – running to meeting, grab a quick handful, 1/3 cup 120 calories, 0g fat
  • Canned Tuna – missed lunch? No problem: spread tuna and have hummus in fridge
  • Veggie Booty – afternoon salty craving, portioned perfectly to 130 calories
  • Chocolate covered espresso beans – sometimes you need chocolate and energy in one
  • Apple – perfect snack, I buy 4 on Monday and eat one a day
  • Pumpkin Butter – spread on Wasa
  • Low Fat Rocky Road Cookies – special treat with a cup of tea on a non-hectic afternoon
  • Mixed Nuts – handful if I’m working out right after work OR sprinkle in yogurt

It must look like a lot of food. I also keep a few things in the fridge – yogurt, hummus, salsa, cut up veggies. But, honest, I don’t sit around and eat all day. I have yogurt in the morning and I add whatever I have on hand. There’s always an apple, and usually one other snack. The key to eating healthy at the office though is being prepared. Sunday I cut up the veggies and on the way to work Monday I get apples, yogurt, and whatever gaps need to be filled.

What are your tips for staying healthy at the office?

