Yesterday I posted a bit about what I do to eat healthy at the office and I think the desk drawer full of food may have suggested that I eat. ALL. DAY. LONG. I don’t! Although, I typically stick to posting about health topics, recipes, restaurants, etc. I thought I’d do a food diary entry for a day.

Here it goes! Complete with pictures and all.

I start my day with a yogurt parfait. When I start my day with oats, bread, or anything that’s primarily carbs, my blood sugar just goes crazy and I am STARVING about 1.5 hours later no matter how filling the breakfast felt. Yogurt works better for my body.

Feeding #1

  • 1 cup non-fat greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp agave – sweetener, like honey but lower on the glycemic index
  • 1 tsp cinnamon – also has regulatory effect on blood sugar along with many other benefits
  • 1 tsp cocoa – mostly for the chocolate flavor, but tons of nutritional benefits too
  • 1 tbsp slivered almonds – a little fat keeps you full longer
  • 1 handful of cereal or crushed cracker (mostly for texture, and a small amount of carbs)

yogurt

Not the most beautiful image, but if I don’t get to start my morning with yogurt, I GET CRANKY.

Next up is lunch. If its a late lunch there’s an apple consumed around noon. If lunch is before 1pm then I eat the apple post-lunch.

Feeding #2

  • 3 tbsp hummus
  • 3 tbsp salsa
  • 1/2 cup of small canned tuna
  • 3 crackers
  • 1 1/2 cups veggies (peppers, cucumbers, carrots)

veggies

And the fruit – whatever is seasonal and organic (if I can afford it). During summer its berries, now its apples…

apple

Feeding #3

This is where the desk drawer/fridge comes into play. Yesterday, I had:

  • handful of grape tomatoes
  • 1 wasa cracker with almond butter
  • 1 wasa cracker with laughing cow light slice
  • 4 espresso chocolate beans

Feeding #4

To-go salad from Saladworks – I was circling around lost in a random NJ suburb trying to find a Kinkos and this was the best option by far. Other choices were White Castle, Wendy’s, McDonald’s…

At Saladworks you make your own salad with 5 ingredients. I guess its more of a lunch place because everything looked really sad, in a wilted sort of way. I am a veggie lover and nothing looked appetizing (so much that I got buffalo chicken for flavor, and I’m not a chicken person). I ended up with:

  • Spinach Leaves
  • Tomatoes
  • Cucumbers
  • Carrots
  • Corn and Black beans
  • Buffalo Chicken
  • No Dressing
  • Whole Wheat Roll (not pictured)

salad

So that’s a typical day! I may do one of these posts every once in a while to show what powers me through my days πŸ™‚

 

