I might be a bit late to the pedometer trend, but now that I’m on board, I love it. The company I am currently consulting for just gave all of their employee’s pedometers as part of a healthy promotion work program and fortunately for me, someone wasn’t interested and gave there pedometer to me. I had heard of the 10,000 goal mark and after a little research I found the following breakdown:

1) Under 5000 steps/day may be used as a “sedentary lifestyle index”
2) 5,000-7,499 steps/day is typical of daily activity excluding sports/exercise and might be considered “low active.”
3) 7,500-9,999 likely includes some exercise or walking (and/or a job that requires more walking) and might be considered “somewhat active.”
4) 10,000 steps/day indicates the point that should be used to classify individuals as “active”.
5) Individuals who take more than 12,500 steps/day are likely to be classified as “highly active”.

I decided to make 10,000 steps per day my goal. It’s been 3 days and I’ve turned into an active player of the Pedometer Game. Like many people, I would describe my job as sedentary and that’s one of the reasons I get frustrated when I can’t make it to the gym. Now that I am wearing the pedometer, I am able to make small and big decisions that help me reach the 10,000 step per day goal as well as to ease my guilt of not having enough time to make it to the gym.

We often hear the advice of parking the car far from the entrance, but here are a few other behavior modifications I’ve adopted to reach the daily 10,000 step goal:

  • Before: tried to be efficient with errands, like filled up tea mug and washed bowl at the same time, printed things all at once
  • After: forget efficiency, bring on the movement! I’ve started to separate all of my tasks. I print each page individually, fill up the tea cup then go and wash it, come back get the bowl and wash it, instead of sending quick emails to people on my floor I walk to the person’s desk (even if they can’t take my question then, I still walked over there)
  • Improvement: the first 2 days I left the office with about 3000 steps, by the 3rd day, I reached 3000 steps by lunch time
  • Before: Automatically head for subway to save time
  • After: When really deficient in office steps, walk to complete the errand. Not everyone can do this, but its great if you live in a metropolitan area. I walked about 40 blocks to drop off some documents and saw a few new sights.
  • Improvement – My 40 block walk took about 5000 steps and made up for the inactive day at the office.
  • Before: While waiting to board airplane would read gossip magazine to decompress
  • After:  With 45 minutes to spare before boarding, explore terminal shops and restaurants.
  • Improvement – Rather than reading about celebrity mishaps, I took about 3500 steps.

Does anyone have any more ideas on how to incorporate more walking at an office job?

So above I mentioned that I was at the airport – while this happens pretty frequently, I was actually there for a personal trip. I am spending the next 4 days in the San Francisco Bay Area!! My goals are to eat, drink, and be merry. First stop – Sonoma…

 

