Sometimes we plan meals and sometimes they just happen. Before heading to San Francisco I reached out to a few bloggers to get recommendations as well as doing some online research. Tartine Bakery kept coming up but I kind of figured that there were enough amazing bakeries in NYC to not need to scope out one in California. To my surprise, when our Sunday brunch plans fell through due to a very long wait, our San Francisco local took us around the corner…TO TARTINE BAKERY. Blind, dumb luck. And, the best part – I was with enough people to try 4 things. Everything was tasty, well made, and fattening. This is a splurge and the ingredients might be all natural, but low in fat, they are not. Good thing we walked about 12,000 steps after this meal (according to my pedometer).

Standing in line, I was confronted with beautiful desserts and pastries. Since these rich, specialty items are atypical for me, I wanted it all!

tartine collageHere’s what we went with:

Treat #1 (my choice): Tomato and Spinach Quiche made with Creme Fraiche

  • Perfection. The crust was perfect, the eggs were creamier than any I had ever eaten.

kiche

Treat #2: double pain au chocolat (Chocolate Croissant)

  • As good as a European pastry. There were many layers of dough, something that is hard to find in most American bakeries. Not too buttery or sweet.

choc croissant

Treat #3: gougère (savory pastry with  gruyere, thyme and pepper)

  • Don’t the ingredients just sound harmonious? Delicious.

savory

Treat #4: Banana Cream Tart (Flaky pastry coated in dark chocolate with caramel, pastry cream, and lightly sweetened cream)

  • Took a very small but but could see the potential. Fresh chunks of banana, delicate cream, and somewhere in there some sweet caramel.

very sweet banana

To put things very simply:

too beautiful

 

