Magazine recipe junky, that is what I am. However, I hate clutter, so magazines are quickly discarded with only the pages remaining of the recipes I want to make at some point. There’s a huge stack of pages stuffed in a drawer and I always feel relief when I finally make something. I saw the recipe for Orange Glazed Salmon in Cooking Light a few months ago under the week night dinner category. I knew this would be good, but honestly, this is one of the best recipes I’ve ever made from Cooking Light.

Orange Glazed Salmon with Red Bliss Potatoes and Spinach

The recipe was meant for 4 people, but since I’m only cooking for 2 people, here’s the modified recipe:

Ingredients

  • 4  (6-ounce) salmon fillets (1 inch thick) 4 ounce piece and 6 ounce piece (the BF needs a slightly bigger portion)
  • 1/2  teaspoon  kosher salt 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • Cooking spray
  • 2  tablespoons  minced shallots 3/4 tbsp shallots
  • 1/4  cup  dry white wine 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar (didn’t have wine)
  • 1/2  teaspoon  chopped fresh rosemary (love rosemary didn’t reduce)
  • 3/4  cup  fresh orange juice juice from 1 orange
  • 1  tablespoon  maple syrup 1/2 tbsp maple syrup
Directions can be found here.
Red Bliss Potatoes
2 small potatoes
sea salt
rosemary
olive oil spray
Cut potatoes into similar 1 inch pieces, spray, sprinkle, and roast for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees.
Spinach
1 full bag
olive oil spray
garlic salt
Spray pan, on medium heat, cook spinach until wilted.
Everything came together in about 30 minutes. I threw the potatoes in first, then focused on the fish, and when that was almost prepared, I started the spinach. The salmon had great flavor- combination of orange, rosemary, and balsamic worked great together. I actually like this flavor combination more than the white wine alternative. Despite the gourmet sounding name, this qualifies as a quick week night dinner. Yummy!
