After the appendix surgery, food was a distant concern. The pain medication keeps you from feeling pain, which includes hunger. With no headache or stomach pain to signal hunger, I went quite a while without eating. Eventually, I started feeling so nauseous that I remembered food! There’s no rules about eating solids vs. liquids, so its pretty much about listening to your cravings. Pretty nice huh?

On Saturday morning, my body said PANCAKES! My wonderful caretaker used Steph’s recipe for perfect, fluffy whole wheat pancakes. I had one plain one with nutella spread on it, and another one with blueberries added to the batter and maple syrup on top. The pancakes were indeed fluffy, and I loved them. My tummy shrank quite a bit, so I was only able to eat half of what is pictured. I enjoyed every bite.

Nutella and Maple Syrup make friends with my Pancakes

So Fluffy!

After breakfast/lunch, I did more of what I do all day. Sleep. When I am awake, my mind is pretty fuzzy, so I need to read something simple and with lots of pictures. I’m slowly going through every girly magazine that exists.

I think I am slowly getting dumber...

It snowed all day long, so in between the naps and magazine reading, I watched the first snow of the year settle in.

With the pain medication that I take every 4 hours, its important to eat something or the nausea kicks in. Animal crackers have been my go to because they’re just such a simple food. Plus, I see them as a comfort food and when you are sick that’s what you’re really after. Later in the day, I enjoyed a whole-wheat hoagie with hummus and grilled veggies.

Soft and warm - that's comfort food

Its incredibly frustrating to know that I can’t work out for weeks, and even then, I’m going to have to take it easy. Its frustrating to lay around all day and have little clarity and to constantly be falling asleep. UGH.

Any advice on staying positive?

