Whether its cold weather, an illness, or you are just having a down sort of day, comfort food has a way of making things better. Since I’ve been recovering from the appendix surgery and its been cold, not to mention I lay around all day, I crave comfort food all day. However, as I mentioned, most of my day is spent laying,  so if I gave in to all my cravings, I would probably have to go back to work wearing my pajama’s since that would be the only outfit that fit.

I’ve been trying to find ways to satisfy my comfort food cravings without having the real thing. Here’s what I’ve come up with:

Ice Cream – non-fat greek yogurt with agave syrup drizzled on top. Must serve in a fancy glass and eat slowly as if it is luxurious, fatty ice cream.

Pizza – its really the warm cheesy bite mixed with carbs that I’m craving, so I’ve been making lots of little whole wheat pita pizzas

Chocolate Chip Cookies – I’m not sure why this works so well, but whole-wheat waffles spread with Nutella make me feel like I’ve gotten to eat quite a few cookies. Waffles is one of the things that I’ve never really eaten before this surgery, and now I crave them for breakfast and dinner.

Here’s a few other replacement ideas that I mean to act on in the next few days:

Potato Chips – Popcorn sprinkled with Sea Salt

French Fries – Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Creamy Soup – Opt for creamy tomato instead of something like a New England Clam Chowder

Mashed Potatoes – I say go for it, but use low fat milk and something like Brummel’s Yogurt Butter and enjoy a reasonable portion guilt free. Personally, I prefer a sweet potato mashed and naked.

Grilled Cheese Sandwich – whole wheat toast with a low fat Laughing Cow Cheese spread between, and pressed in a George Forman or panini press

And last, but not least, I have found that one of my true comfort foods is Animal Crackers. When I don’t want to eat anything, but know I really need to, my animal crackers have really come through.

Does anyone have any other comfort food replacement ideas?

