Its been exactly a month since my last post.

After my appendix surgery, I wasn’t able to work out for several weeks, my appetite was screwy at best, and I was taking painkillers. For someone that defines themselves by terms such as “workout junky”, “health food nut”, and “I-will-only-take-advil-if-dying”, this was a hellish several weeks. I lost my identity. I felt false, like things I said weren’t true anymore. It made writing about leading a healthy lifestyle too frustrating. By the time the stream of holidays came around, I was eating cookies and toasting champagne with the rest of the world and feeling, big surprise, even more unhealthy.

But, its a new year. And, I, like everyone else, I get to regroup and make and meet goals.

I stumbled back to the gym last week, surrounded by the eager New Years Resolutioners, and feeling like a stranger myself. The treadmill looked so daunting, have I ever been able to run? By the third workout, I started to remember “the workout high” and by the fifth workout, I got on the treadmill. It was a pathetic showing at best, as my endurance is non-existent, but its ok.

Its a fresh start.

Happy belated New Year everyone.

