I took a 4 month hiatus from blogging and in getting back to it, I had a lot of questions from people about my overall thoughts on the AFPA Nutrition and Wellness Program. While I was enrolled in the program I wrote 2 reviews, which you can read here and here.

I am going to be completely honest, I think I retained 3% of the information from the course. When I signed up for the program, I thought it sounded like a great way to learn more about nutrition and have something food related in my life since my job has nothing to do with food. For the cost of the program, I’d have been better off taking a few fun cooking lessons. I suppose that if you had an impressive resume in a particular field such as finance or marketing and you were working in an industry such as telecommunications and you wanted to switch to food, an AFPA Nutrition certificate on your resume would show that you were serious about your food interest. However, I think linking to a food blog that you maintain would also show that interest.

You know when you start the program that it will be an individual effort, but I really wish there was an online community for the program to at least bring like minded people together. As far as the difficulty of the course, its super easy. Its multiple choice and you can basically find 95% of the questions in the text, likewise with the open ended questions. The case study is also an easy exercise in that you work with someone you know and can basically make stuff up. I know that’s not a very serious way to take it…

Mostly, Registered Dietitians go through such a rigorous program before consulting with patients that its hard to believe its appropriate for someone with an AFPA certificate to do the same. In states such as New York, its not enough, but other states are more lenient.

So in the spirit of full disclosure, I did not benefit from receiving the certificate. If you have any specific questions, please post and I’ll do my best to answer.

